Nettle Fibres

Photo: stinging-nettle field of the new generation

The textile application of fibre from the big stinging-nettle (Urtica dioica) dates back at least 3,000 years.  In the 19th century there was a nettle manufactory in Leipzig, Germany. After World War II the natural fibres were replaced by lower priced cotton. In Europe only flax could hold its ground with larger cultivation areas – especially in Normandy and Belgium.

Growing stinging-nettle with lower degree of fibre content in Germany combined with the former production methods was very cost intensive. Thus a good amount of companies did not reach a state above trial in their intention to reestablish the nettle fibre in textile markets. In comparision to other domestic fibre plants the degree of fibre content of nettle (approx. 10 %) is small – flax (20 %), hemp (30 %) – and fibre decortication even more complicated. On the other hand the following advantages of nettle fibre are in favor of this crop:

  • fineness,
  • high tensile strength and
  • very high breathability.

In collaboration with some farmers, institutes and other companies the FNR project “Development of an Industrial Supply Chain from Stinging-Nettle-Seedlings to Nettle Fibre” hosts intensive government funded research. The target is to gain fine fibres from the new generation of a stinging-nettle with 20 % degree of fibre content.

In preliminary tests we could proof that our chosen way to produce nettle fibres “Made in Germany” is generally the right approach. In small quantities we are capable to market nettle blended yarns with up to 70 % nettle content.


Photo: nettle card sliver (100 %) to nettle blended yarns

In the non-woven area the first tearproof fleeces and minglings have been produced through needling respectively compression via water jet. In this area the development targets future usage in the bedding-area, accessories, outdoor-area and decorations.

Nesselfasern

Bild: Brennnesselfeld der neuen Generation

Die textile Nutzung der Faser aus der großen Brennnessel (Urtica dioica) reicht mindestens 3.000 Jahre zurück.  Im 19. Jahrhundert gab es sogar eine Nesselmanufaktur in Leipzig. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurden die Naturfasern  von preisgünstigeren Chemiefasern und der preiswerteren Baumwolle verdrängt. In Europa konnte sich nur Flachs mit größeren Anbauflächen, vor allem in der Normandie und Belgien, behaupten.

Der Anbau der Brennnessel mit geringem Fasergehalt in Deutschland und die bisherigen Herstellungsverfahren waren sehr kostenintensiv, so dass es bei einigen Unternehmen nur bei Versuchen blieb, die Nesselfaser wieder im Textilmarkt zu etablieren. Im Vergleich zu anderen einheimischen Faserpflanzen ist der Fasergehalt der Fasernessel bisher mit ca. 10 % gering – Flachs (20 %), Hanf (30 %) – und die Fasergewinnung komplizierter. Dem stehen folgende Vorteile der Nesselfaser gegenüber:

  • Feinheit
  • hohe Reißfestigkeit und
  • sehr hohe Atmungsaktivität.

Zusammen mit einigen Landwirten, Instituten und anderen Unternehmen  wird gemeinsam im FNR (Fachagentur nachwachsende Rohstoffe)  Projekt „Entwicklung einer industriellen Bereitstellungskette von Brennnesseljungpflanzen bis zur Nesselfaser“ intensiv mit staalicher Hilfe geforscht, um feine Fasern aus der neuen Generation einer Brennnessel mit 20 % Fasergehalt zu gewinnen.

In Vorversuchen konnte nachgewiesen werden, dass grundsätzlich unser eingeschlagener Weg, Nesselfasern  „Made in Germany“ herzustellen, richtig ist. In kleinen Mengen können wir bereits Nesselmischgarne – mit bis zu 70 % Nesselanteilen – zum Verkauf anbieten.


Bild: Nesselkardenband (100%) zu Nessel-Mischgarnen

Im non-woven Bereich wurden die ersten reißfesten Vliese und Verfilzungen durch Vernadelung bzw. Verdichtung mit Wasserstrahl hergestellt. Hier sind insbesondere Einsätze im Bettenbereich, bei Accessoires,  im Outdoor Bereich und bei Dekorationen in Entwicklung.