About Us

Photo: NFC machine parts

NFC GmbH Nettle Fibre Company was founded in August 2011. Originally the purpose of the enterprise was solely the decortication of nettle straw in order to market nettle fibres in textile industry. First technical trials with different hemp sorts have been conducted preliminarily in 2010. A solid and complete fibre decortication and fibre cleaning procedure for most renewable plant resources has been researched and realized.

The purchasing of straw from renewable resources of experienced farmers from North Rhine-Westphalia, Lower Saxony, and Mecklenburg-West Pomerania  (MV) in Germany is secured predominantly with contracts. The fibre processing machinery park is located in Groß Helle, MV, and serves for research work in pilot plant scale as well as small production plant with a capacity of approximatly 6,000 t/a hemp straw. We can card approx. 5,000 t/a raw fibres. In the novel multi-purpose-factory we can decorticate all important bast fibre plants (flax, hemp, stinging-nettle, oilseed-flax, kenaf, etc…) as well as ramie. The procedure is lean, consumes little energy and can be operated with only three employees per shift.

Research activities to improve the procedure should be finalized essentially in 2017, to allow an enlargement of the production capacity in 2018.

Our target is to optimize the processes to achieve the same price as for linen fibres. A replacement of cotton by nettle seems not feasable due to the large cost difference.

The company’s research efforts are supported by federal state funds of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, in scope of a network from the German Ministry of Agriculture and since 2016 also by the European Innovation Program EIP North Rhine-Westphalia.

European Agriculture Fonds for the development of the rural area: Europe invests in the rural areas with involvement of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

The “Stifterverband” honored NFC GmbH Nettle Fibre Company with its innovation and reasearch award.

 

We have assigned the company  HAVETEX (Website: www.havetex.de) with the distribution of natural fibre yarns. We honestly hope that one of our cooperation partners will soon achieve a spinning process of 100 % nettle- or hemp yarns from our fine elementary fibres.

Manufacturing of our natural fibres does not need / utilize any pesticides and consumes only very little water. The principal „cradle to cradle“ is being lived as further products like shives (the small wooden parts), short fibres and other side products can be processed to top-quality useful products. For instance nonflammable wooden elements (doors, boards, coverings, furniture or construction material) have been experimentally created in cooperation with a very innovative enterprise.


Photo: shives from NFC converted in a trial to nonflammable wooden elements by partner company

Über uns

Bild: NFC Anlagenteile

Die NFC GmbH Nettle Fibre Company wurde im August 2011 gegründet. Ursprünglich hatten wir uns nur mit der Aufarbeitung von Brennnesselstroh beschäftigt, um die Fasern in der Textilindustrie zu verkaufen. Die ersten Aufarbeitungsversuche mit verschiedenen Hanfsorten wurden bereits vorab 2010 gestartet. Es wurde ein solides und komplettes Faseraufbereitungsverfahren für die meisten nachwachsenden Rohstoffe erforscht und realisiert.

Der Einkauf von Stroh aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen von  erfahrenen Landwirten aus NRW, NDS und MV ist überwiegend vertraglich abgesichert.  Die Faseraufbereitungsanlage befindet sich in Groß Helle, MV und dient für Forschungsarbeiten im Technikumsmaßstab sowie als  Kleinproduktionsanlage mit einer Kapazität von jährlich ca. 6.000 t Hanfstroh. Es können ca. 5.000 t rohe Fasern gekrempelt oder kardiert werden. In dieser neuartigen Multipurpose-Anlage können alle wichtigen Bastfaserpflanzen (Flachs, Hanf, Brennnessel, Ölleinen, Kenaf, etc …) sowie Chinagras mechanisch aufbereitet werden. Das Verfahren ist sehr schlank, verbraucht wenig Energie und kann mit nur drei Mitarbeitern pro Schicht bedient werden.
Forschungsaktivitäten zur Verfahrensverbesserung sollten im Wesentlichen in 2017 erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden, so dass ab 2018 die Produktionskapazität erweitert werden kann.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Verfahren so zu optimieren, dass man den Preis für Leinenfasern erreicht. Ein Ersatz von Baumwolle durch Nessel erscheint aus Kostengründen nicht möglich zu sein.

Das Unternehmen wird vom Land MV, innerhalb eines Verbundes vom BRD-Landwirtschaftsministerium und seit 2016 auch durch das europäische Innovationsprogramm EIP NRW gefördert.

Europäischer Landwirtschaftsfonds für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums: Hier investiert Europa in die ländlichen Gebiete unter Beteiligung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Der Stifterverband zeichnete die NFC GmbH Nettle Fibre Company für ihre Forschung und Innovation aus:

 

Den Vertrieb von Naturfasergarnen haben wir der Firma HAVETEX (Webseite www.havetex.de) übertragen. Wir hoffen sehr, dass einem unserer Kooperationspartner schon bald das Spinnen von  100 % igen Nessel- bzw. Hanfgarnen aus feinen elementaren Fasern gelingt.

Bei der Herstellung unserer Naturfasern werden keine Pestizide eingesetzt und nur sehr wenig Wasser verbraucht. Das Prinzip „cradle to cradle“ wird gelebt, denn die weiteren Produkte Schäben (die kleinen holzigen Teilchen), Kurzfasern und sonstige Nebenprodukte können zu weiteren hochwertigen, sinnvollen Produkten verarbeitet werden. So wurden z.B. nicht brennbare Holzelemente (Türen, Platten, Verkleidungen, Möbel und Bauelemente) bereits versuchsweise in Zusammenarbeit mit einem sehr innovativen Unternehmen hergestellt.


Bild: Schäben der NFC bei Partnerunternehmen versuchsweise zu nicht brennbaren Holzelementen verarbeitet